top of page

New Jane Goodall Barbie Doll

Toymaker Mattel has recently announced that Jane Goodall, an English primatologist and anthropologist, will have her own Barbie doll made with recycled ocean-bounded plastic, in other words, abandoned plastic waste that was found in the ocean.

The Goodall Barbie will come with her signature binoculars, research notebook, and a replica of David Greybeard, the first chimp she saw making tools out of sticks when she went to Tanzania.

The doll was introduced with Barbie's "2022 Barbie Career of The Year Eco-Leadership Team." The set included a conservation scientist, a renewable energy engineer, a chief sustainability officer, and an environmental advocate. It was also part of Barbie’s “Inspiring Women Series,” honoring female role models. The series of historical figures included Ida B. Wells, Maya Angelou, and Billie Jean King.

Jane Goodall once said, “My entire career, I’ve wanted to help inspire kids to be curious and explore the world around them – just like I did when I first traveled to Tanzania 62 years ago. I’m thrilled to partner with Barbie and encourage young children to learn from their environment and feel a sense that they can make a difference.” This statement is meaningful to so many kids and adults, including me.

When I was younger, I went to my school’s book fair with my class. We were told to make a book wish list to bring home and share with our parents to potentially get some of those books. I traveled from table to table, each covered with so many books, from histories to fantasies. While I was scribbling down book titles and walking back to the teacher, a book with all these bright colors of green, yellow, and brown caught my eye. The book read, “Who is Jane Goodall?” and of course, I ask myself: Who is Jane Goodall? Why is there a monkey in the background? I was never initially interested in a biography. I loved reading fantasies and pretending I’m a character in the book, but this book was so intriguing that I wrote it down and skipped my way back to the teacher and my friends.

After reading about her, I found her story to be inspirational since she broke down barriers as a young woman. Also, her connection with nature made me appreciate the world even more.

Mattel said their goal is "to achieve 100% recycled, recyclable, or bio-based plastic materials in all products and packaging by 2030.” I feel this is a great step forward. It will definitely help the environment and educate those who play with dolls. And maybe it will influence other toy brands to do the same and switch from plastic to eco-friendly materials.


Grantham-Philips, Wyatte. “Nature Science Icon Jane Goodall Gets Special Barbie Made from Recycled Plastics.” USA Today, Gannett Satellite Information Network, https://www.usatoday.com/story/money/shopping/2022/07/13/barbie-jane-goodall-recycled-plastic/10046751002/.

Comments


bottom of page